Louth Heritage - Resource Centre

Resource Centre

The Role of the Heritage Forum

To ensure the legitimacy, inclusiveness and, crucially, the implementation of the Heritage Plan, it was drawn up by a County Heritage Forum. The members of this Forum were nominated from a wide range of organisations and groups. This Forum is itself the beginning of a partnership-based approach to the conservation of heritage in Louth. The heritage forum meets around three times a year, to hear reports on ongoing work to implement the heritage plan, to prioritise actions for the following year's work programme and to offer suggestions and advice generally. Members are kept in touch by email, including being consulted, and several members serve on other working groups, such as the biodiversity working group and the Carlingford and Drogheda town walls steering groups.

Membership of the Louth Heritage Forum (January 2012)

Title First Surname Organisation
Cllr Declan Breathnach Louth County Council
Cllr Padraig McKenny Ardee Town Council
Cllr Paul Bell Drogheda Borough Council
Cllr Mark Dearey Dundalk Town Council
Mr Brian Walsh Curator of the County Museum, Dundalk
Ms Angela Dullaghan Louth Conservation Officer
Mr Brendan McSherry Heritage Officer
Ms Bernie Fennell County Librarian, LCC
Ms Lorraine McCann County Archivist, LCC
Ms Alison Condra Tourism Officer, LCC
Mr Vincent Toner Roads Section, LCC
Ms Marguerite Quinn Planning Section, LCC
Mr Terry Savage Senior Executive Planner, LCC
Ms Bernie Woods Head of Finance, LCC
Ms Mary O'Neill Louth LEADER Partnership
Mr Jhan Crane Inspector, Forest Service
Ms Michaela Kirrane Environmental Officer, Inland Fisheries
Ms Martina O'Dwyer Fáilte Ireland EC&M (Tourism)
Mr Niall Ó Lamhna Teagasc
Mr Derick Anderson Loughs Agency
Dr Maurice Eakin DAHG (NPWS)
Mr Victor Buckley DAHG (NMS)
Dr Conor Brady DkIT
Mr Eamon Cooney Louth VEC
Mr Paraic McKevitt Dundalk Chamber of Commerce
Mr Eugene Kierans Drogheda Chamber of Commerce
Mr Liam Woods Farming
Ms Breeda Tuite Community & Voluntary Forum
Ms Betty Quinn Old Drogheda Society/Millmount Museum
Mr Noel Ross Louth Archaeological & Historical Society
Ms Penelope Butler Earthwatch, Drogheda
Mr Breffni Martin Birdwatch Ireland
Ms Ann McNee Carlingford Lough Heritage Trust